Meeting Name: MN Masters Annual Meeting

Date/Time of meeting: Saturday, November 2, 2019

Location: Minnetonka Middle School East Meeting run by: Tom Moore & David Bergquist

Minutes Recorded by: Hannah Cohen

Motions:

- 1) Executive board members were elected for 2020 (two-year terms):
 - Chair David Bergquist
 - Vice-Chair Beth Nymeyer
 - Registrar Mark Kaplan
 - At-Large Luke Paquin

They will join the existing board members below to make up the 2020 Executive Board:

- Treasurer Julie Sabo
- Secretary Hannah Cohen
- At-Large Beth Nymeyer*

Number of Attendees: Too many to count

<u>Executive Committee members present:</u> Tom Moore, David Bergquist, Hannah Cohen, Beth Nymeyer, Randy Ness, Randy Schlichting, Julie Sabo

<u>Board Members Present:</u> Mark Kaplan, Jeremy Busch, Marc Anderson, Dave Kough, Landon Ascheman

Minutes:

- The meeting was called to order at 6:13 PM by David Bergquist and Tom Moore. There
 was a fun sprint meet just prior to the Annual Meeting/Banquet.
- We began with elections. David Bergquist was running unopposed for the Chair position. Tom Moore asked if there were any nominations from the floor. There were none. A motion was made to elect David. David made a short statement about why he wants to continue to be involved in Minnesota Masters in the Chair role. All were in favor via a voice vote.
- Next was a written vote for vice chair. There were two nominees: Gary Kovacs (not present) and Beth Nymeyer. Beth made a statement about why she would like the position. Landon Ascheman checked Minnesota Masters IDs to ensure that everyone was eligible to vote and members voted on a piece of paper, checking off one of the two candidates. The votes were counted by Landon and Mara Ascheman and Beth was elected Vice Chair.
- Next was the election for registrar. Mark Kaplan, Gary Kovacs (not present), and Nicki Philips were nominated. Nicki had decided to drop from the election. Mark made a statement about why he would like the position. Mark was elected via a written vote among MN Masters members.
- The last election was for the At Large position. Jeremey Busch, Gary Kovacs (not present), Luke Paquin, Randy Schlichting, and Karen Zemlin were nominated. The

candidates who were present spoke about why they wanted the role (or in the case of Karen, encouraged people to vote for one of the other great candidates). Luke Paquin won via a written vote among Minnesota Masters members.

- Volunteers were recognized, including
 - the MN Masters Board
 - Shannon Swartz and her granddaughters Katie and Erin, who help make meets possible
 - Tom Moore, who was awarded the Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Appreciation Award for his work on the USMS Volunteer Task Force
 - Carrie Stolar, who volunteers as an At Large Director on the USMS Board of Directors as well as on the Adult-Learn-to-Swim Task Force
 - Sandra Frimerman-Bergquist, who volunteers on the USMS Long Distance Committee
 - o Beth Nymeyer, who volunteers on the USMS Awards & Recognition Committee
- Mark Kaplan and Carrie Stolar were recognized as MN Masters volunteers of the year.
- Swimmers were recognized for being in the 365-Mile Club, being in the Silver Swimmer Club (Masters Swimmer for 25 years), completing the 2019 Open Water Half Marathon, achieving All-American status (having the fastest time in the country for their age group), breaking individual and relay records, being 2019 National Champions, and achieving National and FINA International top ten times.
- 2019 MN Swimmers of the Year were announced:
 - Pool Competition Women: 1) Jennifer Ridge, 2) Sandra Frimerman-Bergquist, 3)
 Kathryn Vandam
 - Pool Competition Men: 1) Brian Jacobson, 2) Marc Anderson, 3) Joseph Anderson
 - Open Water/Long Distance Women: 1) Wendy Peterson, 2) Peggy Kratz, 3)
 Sandra Frimerman-Bergguist
 - Open Water/Long Distance Men: 1) Sean Batemen, 2) Steve Gruenwald, 3) Kevin Pollman
- Marc Anderson introduced Tom Hodgson, who presented the Hall of Fame Class of 2019 and shared some wonderful stories about the achievements and love of swimming of inductees, Robin Kleffman and John Bergman. Both inductees spoke as well. Marc concluded with some updates on what previous Hall of Fame inductees are up to.
- There was delicious food and cake organized by Mary Hoover including take-home containers for leftovers.
- There were lots of raffles of swim gear and MN Masters swag throughout the banquet.
- Randy Ness emailed registration info after the meeting. As of 11/1/2019, there were 1,361 registrations, which is ahead of last year. There have been 154 year-plus registrations.
- *There was also discussion by email after the meeting about Beth Nymeyer holding two Executive Board roles (Vice Chair and At Large). Beth stated that she plans to resign from her At Large position for 2020.

The next meeting is 12/17/2019 at 6:30 PM at the Washburn Library.